Ways You Know You Are Getting Older #1

So, I am going through my morning ritual yesterday and whilst shaving my beard I notice a hair that will not get cut.  What the hell?!? I shave over it again and nothing happens – it is still there.  A closer look reveals it is stuck down in a wrinkle. Still there standing up giving me the big one finger salute to my youth.  I think I even hear it saying “Take that tired, old man. I am just sitting down here comfortable in your skin crevice where your blade cannot touch me”. I have to stretch out my skin and shave over him again and “Whap” he is gone. I look a bit closer after I am cleaned up and sure enough… the start of wrinkles.  I am getting old.

Speaking of shaving, here is my kit:

Razor: I have ended up with the old style butterfly open safety razor.  I prefer this guy: Parker 99R <link>

Blades: Shark Superchrome. Other blades seem to be too rigid and easily cause a bloodletting session.

Shaving Cream: Proraso.  I switch between the Sandalwood and Eucalyptus/Menthol. I definitely prefer cream over soap. <link>

Shaving Bowl: Jay’s Clay Shaving Mug.  A great find from my wife on Etsy. <link>

Badger Brush: Any good one but realize you pay for you get – usually.

Lastly, to combat those wrinkles, an orange peel.

Don J Schulte Photography

Leave a comment